Sunday, June 28, 2009

Vince Neil - Exposed (1993)

Neil was born in Hollywood, California to Odie and Shirley Wharton. During the 1960s, his family moved around Southern California from Inglewood to Watts, before finally settling in Compton. Growing up in Compton was sometimes tough for Neil, who once had his neck slashed by a gang member. Neil eventually got in trouble at school for fighting and drug use, and was subsequently expelled.

Neil was discovered while performing with his band, Rockandi in 1980, and joined Mötley Crüe in 1981. Neil had been friends with Tommy Lee in high school (at one point, Vince lived in Tommy's van, Justify Fullthen Tommy's parents invited him in, and Vince slept beside Tommy's bed). Mötley Crüe was looking for a lead vocalist at the time and were impressed by Neil, after hearing him through Lee. Mötley Crüe released its first album, Too Fast for Love the same year. In 1983, Mötley Crüe released Shout at the Devil, a blockbuster success that has established the band as one of the biggest acts in the history of rock and roll.

In February of 1992, Motley parted ways with Vince Neil, both sides issuing statements. Motley Crue claimed that Vince was more interested in car racing and partying than the bands new music, and claims that Vince quit the band on his own accord. Neil claims that he was fired from the band, because he didn't approve of the bands new musical direction.

Vince had taken up indie racing a few years prior, often turning up at celebrity races. Vince enjoyed the sport so much, that he eventually formed Vince Neil Racing. Vince was racing in the Indy Lights open wheel developmental series at the time. Vince retired from racing in 1992 after crashing his car during a race in Long Beach after the third lap.

In 1992 he released his first solo offering, the single "You're Invited (But Your Friend Can't Come)" was featured on the Encino Man soundtrack. Vince quickly made a video for the song which featured a cameo by Pauly Shore. The video does not feature guitarist Steve Stevens as Stevens was hired after the song and video had been released. Stevens re-recorded the song for Vince's first solo album.

Exposed, was Vince's first solo album, and was released in 1993. The album debuted at #13 on the Billboard charts. The album featured Steve Stevens (former Billy Idol guitarist and Atomic Playboys founder, and who subsequently played all bass and guitar tracks on 'Exposed'), Dave Marshall, Robbie Crane, and Vik Foxx. The album debuted at number 13 on the Billboard 200 and eventually went platinum, doubling the sales of Mötley Crüe's 1994 self-titled album.

Tracks: (Listen Online or Download for Study)
01 Look in Her Eyes 5:50
02 Sister of Pain 5:02
03 Can't Have Your Cake 3:57
04 Fine, Fine Wine 4:12
05 The Edge 4:53
06 Can't Change Me 4:41
07 Set Me Free 4:03
08 Living Is a Luxury 5:39
09 You're Invited (But Your Friend Can't Come) 4:22
10 Gettin' Hard 4:38
11 Forever 5:15

Other Albums (soon to be posted)
* Carved in Stone, 1995, US #139
* Live at the Whisky: One Night Only, 2003

* * * * * * * * * *