Monday, July 27, 2009

Saxon - Rock The Nations (1986)

Saxon are an English heavy metal band, formed in 1976 in Barnsley, Yorkshire. As leading lights in the New Wave of British Heavy Metal they had huge success in the 1980s with 8 UK Top 40 albums including 4 UK Top 10 albums. Saxon also had numerous singles in the Top 20 singles chart. Between 1980 and 1987 Saxon established themselves as one of Europe's biggest metal acts, they also had success in Japan and in the USA. In Japan, the single "Motorcycle Man" stayed in the charts for over 5 months. They still tour heavily and regularly. Their latest tour is their largest in the UK since the late 1980s. Saxon have sold more than 10 million albums worldwide and heavily influenced bands such as Metallica, Megadeth, Sodom and Running Wild.

There is another incarnation of Saxon featuring two former band members who hold the legal rights to the name - "Oliver/Dawson Saxon".

Saxon began with a lineup of Peter "Biff" Byford on vocals, Paul Quinn and Graham Oliver on guitars, Steve "Dobby" Dawson on bass and drummer Pete "Frank" Gill. Early in their career the band changed their name from Son of a Bitch to Saxon, and gained support slots on tour with more established bands such as Motörhead.

In 1979 the band signed to the Carrere record label and released their eponymous debut album. In 1980 follow-up album Wheels of Steel (UK no 5) spawned two hit singles: the title track, and the crowd favourite "747 (Strangers in the Night)". The Strong Arm of the Law album (UK no 11), considered by fans to be one of their best recordings, was released later that same year, and chart success continued with singles from their next release, Denim and Leather (1981 UK no 9). The title track to that album is seen as an anthem of the early 1980s metal movement. Later legal issues with Carrere negated most if not all of the financial gains seen during their early success.

* * * * * * * * * *

* Producer : Gary Lyons
* Recorded at Wisseloord Studios, Hilversum, the Netherlands
* Mixed at Wisseloord Studios
* Artwork by Paul Gregory

Rock The Nations Album was Recorded with Saxon members:
* Biff Byford - vocals
* Graham Oliver - guitar
* Paul Quinn - guitar
* Paul Johnson - bass (actually bass guitar was played by Byford before Johnson joined the band)
* Nigel Glockler - drums

Saxon - Rock The Nations (1986)

Tracks: (Listen Online or Download for Study)
01. Rock The Nations
02. Battle Cry
03. Waiting For The Night
04. We Came Here to Rock
05. You Ain't No Angel
06. Running Hot
07. Party Til You Puke
08. Empty Promises
09. Northern Lady

NOTE: Elton John plays piano on tracks 7 & 9

Other upcoming albums for Postings:
* Saxon (1979)
* Wheels of Steel (1980)
* Strong Arm of the Law (1980)
* Denim and Leather (1981)
* Power & the Glory (1983)
* Crusader (1984)
* Innocence Is No Excuse (1985)
* Rock the Nations (1986)
* Destiny (1988)
* Solid Ball of Rock (1990)
* Forever Free (1992)
* Dogs of War (1995)
* Unleash the Beast (1997)
* Metalhead (1999)
* Killing Ground (2001)
* Lionheart (2004)
* The Inner Sanctum (2007)
* Into the Labyrinth (2009)

* * * * * * * * * *