Saturday, October 17, 2009

Slash's Snakepit - It's Five O' Clock Somewhere (1995)

Slash's Snakepit was a rock band formed by then-Guns N' Roses lead guitarist Slash in 1994. Fellow Guns N' Roses members Matt Sorum (drums), Gilby Clarke (rhythm guitar) also joined him. On bass was Mike Inez of Alice in Chains. Eric Dover (who had previously played guitar for Jellyfish) sang lead vocals. GN'R colleagues Teddy Andreadis and Dizzy Reed also appeared on the record playing harmonica & keyboards respectively.

The legend goes that Slash and Sorum were jamming in Slash's home studio Justify Full(known as "The Snakepit" due to the guitarist's fondness for snakes, and the studio being in proximity to his pets) with a view to working on new GN'R material. Soon, Gilby Clarke (rhythm guitar in Guns at the time) was joining them and contributing ideas. They demo'd songs together, onto which Slash apparently overdubbed some bass parts. In some cases, GN'R bassist Duff McKagan also contributed ideas and is credited as having co-written "Beggars & Hangers-On".

According to Axl Rose, in a 1999 interview with MTV's Kurt Loder, these songs were offered to Guns N' Roses as prospective material, but were turned down by Rose.

Slash recruited Alice in Chains bassist Mike Inez to complete the musical side of the group. Gilby Clarke's drummer, Mark Danziesen, suggested Dover as vocalist, and after passing the audition, he joined the quintet to complete recording of what would become "It's Five O'Clock Somewhere".

Up to this point, Slash had always been publicly against a solo effort, claiming he had no need for one whilst Guns was in action. In promoting this album, he remained pragmatic in statements that it wasn't "really" a solo album, just a project that had come together by accident, and morphed into another band which was now keeping him busy whilst Guns was on hiatus. Slash wanted the band to simply be called "Snakepit", but the record company insisted they add his name to help increase sales.

* * * * * * * * * *
Slash's Snakepit - It's Five O' Clock Somewhere (1995)
Eric Dover – lead vocals
Slash – lead guitar, rhythm guitar, backing vocals, production
Gilby Clarke – rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Mike Inez – bass, backing vocals
Matt Sorum – drums

It's Five O'Clock Somewhere is the debut studio album by American hard rock band Slash's Snakepit, released in February 1995. The album was a decent commercial success, reaching number 70 on the American Billboard 200 albums chart, and being certified Platinum by the RIAA.

Tracks: (Listen Online by clicking a song or Download for Study)
01. Neither Can I
02. Dime Store Rock
03. Beggars & Hangers-On
04. Good to Be Alive
05. What Do You Want to Be
06. Monkey Chow
07. Soma City Ward
08. Jizz da Pit - (TRUE instrumental)
09. Lower
10. Take It Away
11. Doin' Fine
12. Be the Ball
13. I Hate Everybody (But You)
14. Back and Forth Again

* * * * * * * * * *