Wednesday, February 24, 2010

The Dawn - Discography (OPM/Rock)

The Dawn is a Filipino rock band which first achieved commercial success during the late 1980s in the Philippines. The band broke up in 1995 with lead vocalist Jett Pangan forming another band, the Jett Pangan Group. The Dawn reunited in late 1999. The Dawn is considered the "longest-lived and most prolific rock band in the Philippines".

The Dawn was formed in 1985 by Teddy Diaz (vocals and guitars), JB Leonor (drums), Jett Pangan (lead vocals) and Clay Luna (bass). The band's name was derived from a portrait of the Holy Spirit that symbolized the dawn of a new day (probably found in a book given by the Sisters of the Holy Spirit to Teddy Diaz, as well as a crucifix which Teddy also received from the same sisterhood), called The Dawning of the Holy Spirit. Diaz, Leonor and Luna initially wanted a female vocalist; but in the course of their search, Jett Pangan auditioned and got the trio's unanimous nod. The quartet began performing in clubs and eventually recorded a demo of a song entitled "Enveloped Ideas," a copy of which they submitted to DWXB 102.7, a now-defunct Metro Manila–based FM radio station that played Alternative rock and New Wave music. It topped the radio station's charts in 1986, helping the group gain a cult following. Heavily influenced by the New Wave genre of the 1980s, "Enveloped Ideas" is distinct for its introductory operatic vocals a la Klaus Nomi.

In 1986, The Dawn signed with OctoArts International and, the next summer, released their eponymous debut album, which gained commercial success. Many felt that The Dawn would fill the void left behind by the Juan de la Cruz Band when their music slowly faded in the 1980s.

At the height of their popularity in 1988, and just weeks after the release of their second album I Stand With You, Teddy Diaz was stabbed to death in front of his girlfriend's house on August 21, 1988 by two men allegedly under the influence of drugs and alcohol. Despite the demise of Diaz, his influence is still felt among many guitarists today and he has become a legend among many Filipino musicians. The Dawn still considers Diaz to be the band's driving force to this day.

The band continued to play, at one time employing the services of a masked guitarist (nicknamed Zorro by some fans) in the absence of a permanent guitar player. Atsushi Matsuura, a Japanese guitarist who had earlier released a solo album in the Philippines under Ivory Records, took on lead guitar duties in January 1989. He was later replaced by Francis Reyes, former Afterimage guitarist, who was also a disc jockey at NU-107, a local alternative rock radio station. Reyes also happened to be Diaz's close friend. Classically trained session keyboardist Millette Saldajeno also joined the band in 1990 but was later replaced by Isidore Fernandez in 1992.

* * * * * * * * * *

The Dawn - The Dawn (1986)
The Dawn is the eponymous debut album of The Dawn, released in 1986. Its most prominent track is "Enveloped Ideas", the song that helped the band gain a cult following in the Philippines.

Tracks (Listen online or Download for Study)
01. Eneveloped Ideas
02. Dreams
03. Give Me The Night
04. Living Seed
05. Sing Me A New Song
06. Mad Game
07. Behind Shadows
08. Susi

* * * * * * * * *

The Dawn - I stand with You (1988)

I Stand With You is the second studio album by The Dawn, released in 1988. This is the final album upon which guitarist and founding member Teddy Diaz played on before he was murdered on August 21, 1988.

01. Magtanim Ay Di Biro
02. The Moon
03. Let Me Dance
04. Wish You Were Here
05. Love (Will Set Us Free)
06. I Stand With You
07. Mga Kuya (Elder Brothers)
08. I'm Not Hurting Anymore

* * * * * * * * * *
The Dawn - Beyond The Bend (1989)
the third studio album of The Dawn, released in 1989. Salamat (Thank You), the first track in the album, is dedicated to the memory of Teddy Diaz, the band's guitarist, who was stabbed to death the year before.

Tracks (Listen online or Download for Study)
01. Salamat
02. Rain On Me
03. Hey Isabel
04. Rock Till you Drop
05. Beyond The bend
06. Little Paradise
07. His Name
08. Puno't Dulo

* * * * * * * * * *

The Dawn Live (1989)

01. Oh Fortuna
02. Salamat
03. Dreams
04. The Cure, The Cult Medley
05. Little Paradise
06. Enveloped Ideas
07. Beyond The Bend
08. Love (Will set us free)
09. Rock till You Drop
10. Magtanim ay di Biro

* * * * * * * * * *

The Dawn - Heart's Thunder (1990)
Heart's Thunder is the fourth studio album by The Dawn, released in 1990. It is the album on which guitarist Francis Reyes first played.

Tracks: (Listen Online or Download for study)
01. Alam Ko, Alam Nyo
02. It Will Never Be The Same
03. Old Man's Shoes
04. Vision Street
05. Run Away
06. Mahal Kong Ina
07. Purple Haze — originally by Jimi Hendrix
08. Magic Garden

* * * * * * * * * *

# 1992: Abot Kamay
# 1994: Puno't Dulo
# 1997: The Dawn: OPM Timeless Collection (Gold Series Compilation)
# 2000: Prodigal Sun
# 2004: Harapin
# 2006: Tulad ng Dati
# 2008: The Later Half of Day
* * * * * * * * * *