Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Dennis DeYoung - Discography

Dennis DeYoung (born February 18, 1947, Chicago, Illinois) is an American singer, songwriter, musician and producer best known for being a founding member of the rock band Styx, a tenure which lasted from 1970 to 1999. Growing up in the Roseland neighborhood in Chicago, Illinois, DeYoung's career as a vocalist started in 1961 at the age of 14 when he teamed up with his 13 year old neighbors, Chuck and John Panozzo, in a three-piece combo. The trio later added guitarist James Young and John Curulewski to form the band Tradewinds in the late 1960s. The band renamed itself TW4 in 1968 before becoming Styx in 1970.

Within Styx, DeYoung acted as lead vocalist, keyboardist, accordion player, producer, writer and creative force behind many of the band's hit songs. A self-taught keyboardist, DeYoung quickly became one of the most notable players of that instrument in rock. Featured on the cover of the January 1981 issue of Contemporary Keyboard magazine (a story that was reprinted in Contemporary Keyboard's book on the greatest rock keyboardists), DeYoung described many of his steps along the way through his keyboard-playing career: He'd never played an acoustic piano until the recording session for 1972s "Lady"; he recorded the track for 1979s "Babe" in a friend's basement on a Rhodes electric piano he'd never touched before; the odd feeling of switching back to playing accordion for the song "Boat On The River" and discovering how small the keys felt to his fingers after years of playing electric organs and pianos.

With Styx in limbo following Shaw's 1984 departure, DeYoung began a solo career of modest success. His first solo album, Desert Moon, generated a top 10 hit, "Desert Moon", and the follow-up single, "Don't Wait For Heroes", cracked the Billboard Top 40 as well. Desert Moon was followed by albums Back to the World (1986) and Boomchild (1988). Desert Moon was certified gold in Canada in 1984.

In 1990, Styx (minus Tommy Shaw, who was replaced by guitarist/singer-songwriter Glen Burtnik) returned to the studio for the album Edge Of The Century. "Show Me the Way", a track written by DeYoung for his son Matthew, received extensive radio play, peaking at #3 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart (Styx's 8th top 10 single, and 7th written and sung by DeYoung) particularly after a number of radio stations mixed it with voice tracks of parents headed off to fight in the first Persian Gulf War. This success made the band one of only a handful of bands/artists to have a top ten single under four different Presidents in the United States. The group toured North America extensively before A&M Records (which had just merged with PolyGram Records) dropped the group from its roster in 1992; the group broke up again shortly afterwards.

Between stints with Styx in 1993, DeYoung, a devout Roman Catholic, joined a touring revival of the stage musical Jesus Christ Superstar. He appeared in about 200 performances across North America as Pontius Pilate. The experience inspired him to record his 1994 album of Broadway standards, 10 on Broadway, and to begin work on a musical of his own based on The Hunchback of Notre Dame.

Styx reunited once more in 1995, this time including Shaw but minus a terminally ill John Panozzo (who died a short time later in July 1996), and recorded a new version of the DeYoung-penned "Lady" for their 1995 Styx Greatest Hits album. The group toured in 1996 and 1997, and returned to the recording studio in 1998 to begin work on Brave New World, their first studio album in nearly a decade.

* * * * * * * * * *

Dennis DeYoung - Desert Moon (1984)
Desert Moon is the debut solo album from one-time Styx keyboard player/singer/songwriter Dennis DeYoung. It was released in 1984 by A&M Records. The album reached #24 on the Billboard album charts in the fall of 1984. The album's biggest hit was its title cut which hit #10 on the Billboard singles chart. The album's second single "Don't Wait for Heroes" scraped the Top 40 and got MTV play. Desert Moon was certified Gold in Canada.


01. Don't Wait for Heroes – 4:46
02. Please – 4:20
03. Boys Will Be Boys – 5:41
04. Fire (Jimi Hendrix) – 3:46
05. Desert Moon – 6:09
06. Suspicious – 4:57
07. Gravity – 4:51
08. Dear Darling (I'll Be There) – 4:27

* * * * * * * * * *

Dennis DeYoung - Back to The World (1986)

The second solo album from Dennis DeYoung. It was released in 1986 by A&M Records. It reached #108 on The Billboard 200 Charts. Call Me reached #5 on the Adult Contemporary Charts.

01. This Is The Time (3:53)
02. Warning Shot (4:25)
03. Call Me (4:46)
04. Unanswered Prayers (6:34)
05. Black Wall (5:50)
06. Southbound Ryan (4:41)
07. I'll Get Lucky (4:42)
08. Person to Person (4:57)

* * * * * * * * * *

Dennis DeYoung - Boomchild (1988)
The third solo album from Dennis DeYoung. It was released in 1988 by MCA Records.

01. Beneath The Moon (4:39)
02. The Best Is Yet to Come (4:13)
03. What a Way To Go (4:42)
04. Harry's Hands (4:51)
05. Boomchild (4:54)
06. Who Shot Daddy? (4:31)
07. Outside Looking In Again (5:21)
08. Won't Go Wasted (4:19)

* * * * * * * * * *

Dennis DeYoung - 10 on Broadway (1994)
A solo album of Broadway standards from Dennis DeYoung. It was released in 1994 by Atlantic Records. The idea for the album came in connection with DeYoung's performance as Pontius Pilate in Jesus Christ Superstar as part of the 1992 national tour of the production.

01. Someone to Watch Over Me (from "Crazy for You")
02. On the Street Where You Live (from "My Fair Lady")
03. Someone Else's Story (from "Chess")
04. Once Upon a Dream (from "Jekyll and Hyde")
05. Where I Want To Be (from "Chess")
06. Summertime (from "Porgy and Bess")
07. Pilate's Dream (from "Jesus Christ Superstar")
08. Memory (from "Cats")
09. Bring Him Home (from "Les Miserables")
10. It's In Every One of Us (from "Time:)

* * * * * * * * * *

Dennis DeYoung - The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1998)
The Hunchback of Notre Dame is a recording of music written by Dennis DeYoung for his musical adaptation of Victor Hugo's novel The Hunchback of Notre Dame. The musical was performed at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center in Nashville to very positive reviews.

This recording was commercially released directly by DeYoung and is an early version of the score, with DeYoung performing all of the male parts and his sister-in-law Dawn Marie performing the female parts. Several songs are related to Styx and solo DeYoung releases. "Beneath the Moon" is a re-worked version of the song by the same name from DeYoung's 1988 Boomchild album. "Paradise" was later lyrically altered and re-recorded by Styx and released as a studio track on Styx's Return to Paradise double live album. In addition, "While There's Still Time" was likewise re-recorded and included on Styx's Brave New World album

01. Who Will Love This Child
02. King of Fools
03. Hey Quasimodo
04. By the Grace of God
05. When I Dance for You
06. Ave Maria
07. Alms for the Beggerman
08. Paradise
09. Bless me Father

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *