Thursday, March 11, 2010

Don Henley - Discography

Donald Hugh "Don" Henley (born July 22, 1947; Gilmer, Texas) is an American musician, singer, songwriter and drummer, best known as a founding member of the Eagles before launching a successful seven time Grammy Award-winning solo career. His solo hits include "The Boys of Summer", "Dirty Laundry" and "The End of the Innocence". In 2008, he was ranked the 87th greatest singer of all time by Rolling Stone magazine.

Henley has also played a founding role in several environmental and political causes, most notably the Walden Woods Project. Since 1994, he has divided his musical activities between the Eagles and his solo career.

Early Life:
Don Henley initially attended college at Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, Texas. He then attended North Texas State University (renamed in 1986) in Denton, Texas during 1968 and 1969. He left to spend time with his father, who was dying from heart and arterial disease.

In 1970, he moved to Los Angeles to record an album with his early band, Shiloh. Shiloh's album was produced by fellow Texan Kenny Rogers. Shortly thereafter, Henley met Glenn Frey through Amos Records in Los Angeles. They both became members of Linda Ronstadt's backup band—touring with her was the catalyst for forming the group in the first place. As a result, two months later they, along with Bernie Leadon and Randy Meisner, became their own act, Eagles. All four of the original Eagles are featured on the 1971 album Linda Ronstadt. Later, Ronstadt also covered one of the Eagles' songs "Desperado".

The Eagles were formed in September 1971, and released their first album in 1972, which contained the hit song "Take It Easy." During the band's run, Henley co-wrote (usually with Frey) most of the band's best-known songs, notably "Desperado." Henley sang lead vocals on many of the band's popular songs, including "Desperado", "Witchy Woman", "Best of My Love", "One of These Nights", "Hotel California", "The Long Run", "Life in the Fast Lane" and "Wasted Time". The Eagles won numerous Grammy Awards during the 1970s and became one of the most successful rock bands of all time. Their Greatest Hits (1971–1975) is considered the best-selling album ever (in America), in any category. They are also the only band to have two best-selling albums in the top 15 American best-sellers of all time and are also amongst the top 5 overall best-selling bands of all time in America.

* * * * * * * * * *

Don Henley - I Can't Stand Still (1982)

Following the breakup of the Eagles, Henley embarked on a productive solo career, the most commercially successful of any of the Eagles. His first solo release, 1982's I Can't Stand Still, was a moderate seller. The single "Dirty Laundry", a denunciation of tabloid media, was Henley's all-time biggest hit. It reached #3 on Billboard Hot 100 at the beginning of 1983 and earned a Gold-certified single for sales of over a million copies in the US. It was also nominated for a Grammy.

Tracks: (Listen Online Or Download for study)
01. I Can't Stand Still
02. You Better Hang Up
03. Long Way Home
04. Nobody's Business
05. Talking to the Moon
06. Dirty Laundry
07. Johnny Can't Read
08. Them and Us
09. La Eile
10. Lilah
11. The Unclouded Day

* * * * * * * * * *

Don Henley - Building the Perfect Beast (1984)
Featured layered synthesizers and was a marked departure from the Eagles' country-rock sound. A single release, "The Boys of Summer", reached No. 5 on the Billboard Hot 100. The song's haunting rhythms and lyrics of loss and aging, capped by seeing "a Deadhead sticker on a Cadillac," immediately connected with a certain age group. The music video for the song was a striking, evocative, black-and-white, French New Wave-influenced montage directed by Jean-Baptiste Mondino that won several MTV Video Music Awards including Best Video of the Year. Henley also won the Grammy Award for Best Male Rock Vocal Performance for the song. Several other songs on the album, "All She Wants to Do Is Dance" (No. 9 on Hot 100), "Not Enough Love in the World" (#34) and "Sunset Grill" (#22) also received considerable airplay.

Tracks: (Listen Online Or Download for study)
01. The Boys Of Summer
02. You Can't Make Love
03. Man With A Mission
04. You're Not Drinking Enough
05. Not Enough Love In The World
06. Building The Perfect Beast
07. All She Wants To Do Is Dance
08. A Month Of Sundays
09. Sunset Grill
10. Drivin' With Your Eyes Closed
11. Land Of The Living

* * * * * * * * * *

Don Henley.1989 - The End of the Innocence (1989)

The End of the Innocence, was even more successful. The song "The End of the Innocence", a collaboration with Bruce Hornsby, is a melancholy, piano-driven tale of finding bits of happiness in a corrupt world, and reached No. 8 as a single. The hit follow-up, "The Heart of the Matter", is an emotive chance remembrance of a lost love. Both songs use the effective technique of varying the words in the chorus each time it is sung, to advance the song's narrative. The album's "The Last Worthless Evening" and "New York Minute" were among other songs that gained radio airplay. Henley again won the Best Male Rock Vocal Performance Grammy in 1990 for the album. Also in 1989, Henley made a brief appearance on MTV's Unplugged series.

Tracks: (Listen Online Or Download for study)
01. The End Of The Innocence
02. How Bad Do You Want It?
03. I Will Not Go Quietly
04. The Last Worthless Evening
05. New York Minute
06. Shangri-La
07. Little Tin God
08. Gimme What You Got
09. If Dirt Were Dollars
10. The Heart Of The Matter

* * * * * * * * * *

Don Henley - Actual Miles: Henley's Greatest Hits (1995)

Tracks: (Listen Online Or Download for study)
01. Dirty Laundry
02. The Boys Of Summer
03. All She Wants To Do Is Dance
04. Not Enough Love In The World
05. Sunset Grill
The End Of The Innocence
07. The Last Worthless Evening
08. New York Minute
09. I Will Not Go Quietly
The Heart Of The Matter
The Garden Of Allah - ('95)
12. You Don't Know Me At All - ('95)
13. Everybody Knows

* * * * * * * * * *

Don Henley - Inside Job (2000)
Inside Job is the fourth studio album by Don Henley, released in 2000. The song "Goodbye to a River" was apparently named after the book of the same title by John Graves. In the album's liner notes Henley wrote: "Respect and gratitude to fellow Texan, John Graves, for his inspirational writing - Goodbye to a River (1960) and other books."

Tracks: (Listen Online Or Download for study)
01. Nobody Else In The World But You
02. Taking You Home
03. For My Wedding
04. Everything Is Different Now
05. Workin It
06. Goodbye To A River
07. Inside Job
08. They're Not Here, They're Not Coming
09. Damn It, Rose
10. Miss Ghost
11. The Genie
12. Annabel
13. My Thanksgiving

* * * * * * * * * *