Tuesday, March 30, 2010

John Cougar Mellencamp - Discography

John Mellencamp, previously known by the stage names Johnny Cougar, John Cougar, and John Cougar Mellencamp, (born October 7, 1951) is an American rock singer-songwriter, musician, painter and occasional actor. He has sold over 40 million albums worldwide and has amassed 22 Top 40 hits in the United States. In addition, he holds the record for the most tracks by a solo artist to hit number-one on the Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks chart, with seven, and he has been nominated for 13 Grammy Awards, winning one.

His songs are known for their populist themes.Mellencamp is also one of the founding members of Farm Aid, an organization that began in 1985 with a concert in Champaign, Illinois to raise awareness about the loss of family farms and to raise funds to keep farm families on their land. The Farm Aid concerts have remained an annual event over the past 25 years, and as of 2010 the organization has raised over $36 million to promote a strong and resilient family farm system of agriculture.

Mellencamp was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on March 10, 2008 by Billy Joel. His biggest musical influences are Bob Dylan, Woody Guthrie and The Rolling Stones.

* * * * * * * * * *

John Mellencamp - American Fool (1982)
American Fool is the sixth album by John Mellencamp, released under the stage name John Cougar in 1982. This was Mellencamp's last album to be released under the name John Cougar. His next album, Uh-Huh, would be released under the name John Cougar Mellencamp. According to a 1983 article in the Toledo Blade, the song "Danger List" originated when Mellencamp heard his guitarist Larry Crane playing some chords in a basement rehearsal room. "I turned on the tape recorder and sang 30 verses," Mellencamp explained. "I just made them up. Then I went and weeded out the ones I didn't like."

Kenny Aronoff: Drums, Percussion
Larry Crane: Guitar
George Chocolate Perry: Bass

02. Jack & Diane – 4:16
04. Danger List (Mellencamp, Larry Crane) – 4:28
06. Thundering Hearts (Mellencamp, Green) – 3:40
08. Close Enough – 3:38
09. Weakest Moments – 4:07

* * * * * * * * * *

John Mellencamp - The Lonesome Jubilee (1987)
The 9th album by John Mellencamp, released in 1987 on the Mercury Records label. It has considerable country and folk music influences, including the use of steel guitar, violins, accordion and hammond organ. It contained a number of hit singles, including "Paper in Fire" (Mainstream Rock #1, Hot 100 #9) and "Cherry Bomb" (Mainstream Rock #1, Hot 100 #8).

01. Paper in Fire
02. Down and Out In paradise
03. Check It Out
04. The Real Life

05. Cherry Bomb

06. We Are The People
07. Empty Hands
08. Hard Times For An Honest Man
09. Hotdogs and Hamburgers
10. Rooty Toot Toot

* * * * * * * * * *

John Mellencamp - Big Daddy (1989)
The 10th studio album by John Mellencamp, released in 1989 by Mercury Records. It was his last album to be released under the name John Cougar Mellencamp, a combination of his real name and his original stage name of Johnny Cougar. The album peaked at number 7 on the Billboard 200 and contained the singles "Pop Singer" and "Jackie Brown" which peaked at number fifteen and forty eight respectively on the Billboard Hot 100. A re-mastered version of the album was released on May 24, 2005, and contains a bonus acoustic version of Jackie Brown. Like The Lonesome Jubilee, Big Daddy is folk-inspired as violins and fiddles (among other instruments) are significantly utilized on a number of tracks. The album's lyrics largely take a serious tone and the album as a whole is regarded by some as Mellencamp's most reflective.

01. Big Daddy Of Them All
02. To Live
03. Martha Say
04. Theo And Weird Henry
05. Jackie Brown
06. Pop Singer
07. Void In My Heart
08. Mansions In Heaven
09. Sometimes A Great Notion
10. Country Gentleman
11. J. M. ‘s Question
12. Let It All Hang Out

* * * * * * * * * *

John Mellencamp - Dance naked (1994)
The 13th album by John Mellencamp released in 1994. The album was released in response to the record company's accusations that Mellencamp's previous album, Human Wheels, didn't "fit the format." Mellencamp was irritated with this remark, feeling that none of his albums ever fit the format. As a result, he wrote several purposely radio-friendly songs and recorded them within the span of 14 days at the Belmont Mall Studio in Indiana, intending to show the lack of effort required to produce the type of album they were asking for.

Although Mellencamp claims that Dance Naked was merely an easy output to give the company what it wanted, the album was still well received. The most notable accomplishment was the largely successful single "Wild Night", a cover of the 1971 song by Van Morrison. The song featured Me'shell Ndegeocello on a duet with Mellencamp as well as the prominent bass lead. The single reached #3 on the Billboard Top 100 and charted at #1 on the Adult Contemporary List for 8 weeks. The album itself reached #13 on the Billboard 200 and produced several music videos: two versions for "Wild Night", another for the title track "Dance Naked", and two un-released videos for "L.U.V." and "Another Sunny Day 12/25".

01. Dance Naked
02. Brothers
03. When Margaret Comes to Town
04. Wild Night
05. I.U.V.
06. Another Sunny Day 12/25
07. Too Much To Think About
08. The Big Jack
09. The Break Out

* * * * * * * * * *

John Mellencamp (1998)

John Mellencamp is the first of three albums Mellencamp would record for Columbia Records.

01. Fruit Trader (Mellencamp) - 3:57
02. Your Life Is Now (Mellencamp/Green) - 3:59
03. Positively Crazy (Mellencamp/Green/York) - 4:09
04. I'm Not Running Anymore (Mellencamp) - 3:26
05. It All Comes True (Mellencamp/Green) - 3:58
06. Eden Is Burning (Mellencamp) - 3:50
07. Where The World Began (Mellencamp/Green) - 3:29
08. Miss Missy (Mellencamp) - 3:40
09. Chance Meeting At The Tarantula (Mellencamp) - 4:05
10. Break Me Off Some (Mellencamp/Moe Z M.D./Green) - 4:10
11. Summer Of Love (Mellencamp/York) - 4:01
12. Days Of Farewell (Mellencamp/Myers) - 3:12

* * * * * * * * * *

John Mellencamp - Freedom's Road (2007)
This debuted on the Billboard 200 at number five in late January 2007, becoming the highest debuting album of Mellencamp's career. The song "Our Country" received significant exposure prior to the release of the album, as it was featured in frequently-aired commercials for Chevrolet trucks.

John Mellencamp: Vocals, Guitar
Dane Clark: Drums, Percussion
John Gunnell: Bass
Troye Kinnett: Keyboards
Miriam Sturm: Violin
Andy York: Guitars, Vocals, Flute-a-phone, Vocal Arrangements

02. Ghost Towns Along The Highway – 4:40
04. Forgiveness – 4:30
06. Jim Crow – 3:22
07. Our Country – 3:47
09. My Aeroplane – 4:41
10. Heaven Is A Lonely Place – 4:32
11. Rodeo Clown [hidden track after several minutes of silence] – 4:25

GUESTS on this album:
Joan Baez: Vocal Duet On "Jim Crow"
Little Big Town: Backing Vocals

Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Roads, Phillip Sweet, and Jimi Westbrook appear courtesy of Equity Music Group

* * * * * * * * * *