Friday, April 30, 2010

Jani Lane - Back to one (2002)

Jani Lane (born John Kennedy Oswald, February 1, 1964 in Akron, Ohio) is an American recording artist who was the lead vocalist and songwriter for the glam metal band Warrant.

Jani Lane left Warrant in March 1993, following the release of the band's critically acclaimed record Dog Eat Dog. He returned to the band in September 1994, helping the band to secure a new record with Tom Lipsky of CMC International.

Lane would continue to show his writing diversity, when Warrant released Ultraphobic in 1995 with the guitar ballad, "Stronger Now". Then, in 1996, Warrant released the more experimental, yet catchy, Belly to Belly.

Due to personal and business disagreements, Lane left Warrant in 2004. In January 2008, the band's agent, The William Morris Agency issued a new photograph of the band with Lane prominently featured, confirming his return to the band. It was the first time that all original members had been in the band since 1992. The band's first show with all original members was in May of 2008 in Nashville. Warrant then performed a series of shows during the summer of 2008, but by September 2008, Warrant issued a statement saying the band would move forward without Jani Lane fronting the band. He was replaced with ex-Lynch Mob singer Robert Mason.

* * * * * * * * * *
Jani Lane - Back Down to One (2002)
A Solo album by Jani Lane after he left warrant. Released 2002.

* Jani Lane: Lead Vocal
* Matt Cleary: Guitars
* Mark Matthews: Bass
* Adam Mercer: Drums
* Dave Brooks: Backing Vocal

Tracks: [links updated Jan 2012]
01. Funny (Kelli, Lane) 2:55
02. Better Than You (Kelli, Lane) 3:16
03. Nothing (Kelli, Lane) 3:09
04. How a Girl (Matt Cleary, Kelli, Lane) 3:42
05. Back Down to One (Kelli, Lane) 3:48
06. Hooked (Kelli, Lane) 2:49
07. Oh Yeah (Kelli, Lane) 3:09
08. Don't Trust Me (Kelli, Lane) 2:38
09. Twilight (Kelli, Lane) 3:06
10. 6 Feet Under (Kelli, Lane) 2:45
11. Sick (Kelli, Lane) 3:13

* * * * * * * * * *