Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Jan Cyrka - Beyond the Common Ground (1992)

Jan Cyrka is a British guitar player. In the early 80s Cyrka formed a band in London called The Broadway Metal Choir. The line-up featured himself on guitar, Kevin Riddles (bass, ex-Angelwitch; Tytan), Kevin Fitzpatrick (keyboards) and Andy Beirne (drums). Unlikely vocalist Max Gelt- a deli owner from Florida- was drafted in on vocals, but after six weeks of touring he broke his leg and returned to Miami. The band released an album in 1985 called 'And God Gave Us Max', but split soon afterwards. After they broke up, most of the band returned to session work, but Cyrka was then to spend three years in Zodiac Mindwarp and the Love Reaction (under the name Flash Bastard). After a support slot with Guns & Roses, Cyrka left the band to focus on solo work. He released his critically acclaimed debut, "Beyond The Common Ground," in 1992. The track "Western Eyes" was used as the theme to the Radio 1 Rock Show.

* * * * * * * * * *

Jan Cyrka - Beyond the Common Ground (1992)
Jan's debut album took the British guitar community by storm. And even though the album wasn't commercially available in the States, a minor buzz managed to make its way across the pond. Strong riffs, zany dynamics and clever arrangements made this album a rare gem for guitar enthusiasts.

Download and extract with Winrar.


01. Horse of Another Colour
02. Equaliser
03. Two Wheels are Better than Four
04. In Search Of Common Ground
05. On The Contrary
06. From Your Lips
07. Western Eyes
08. Missing The Motive
09. I remember
10. Sitting On Eggs
11. Hoodlum

* * * * * * * * * *