Monday, April 18, 2011

Stryper - Covering (2011)

The Covering is the ninth studio album by American hard rock and heavy metal band Stryper, released by Big 3 Records/Sony on February 15, 2011. The album is a collection of twelve cover songs from bands that inspired Stryper and helped to shape the band's sound and musical identity. The album also includes "God", a new original recording.

See Stryper other Albums

* * * * * * * * * * * *

The Covering shows Stryper paying homage to all of the bands who influenced their career. Stryper didn’t try to reinvent the wheel when doing these songs. They did the songs in their traditional forms. The major difference on the Stryper version of these songs, are the awesome guitar tones of Oz Fox, and the excellent vocal harmonies of Michael Sweet. They did a terrific job with the songs, and The Covering shines as a result. Did Stryper pick the best songs to cover from the artists who inspired them? Probably not. There are better songs from Van Halen, Kiss, Ozzy Osbourne and Iron Maiden that Stryper could have covered. With that being said, the versions of the songs on The Covering, are handled with such grace, that I can find much fault with this CD at all.

Tracks: (download and study)
01. Set Me Free (Sweet)
02. Blackout (Scorpions)
03. Heaven and Hell (Black Sabbath)
04. Lights Out (UFO)
05. Carry on Wayward Son (Kansas)
06. Highway Star (Deep Purple)
07. Shout it Out Loud (Kiss)
08. Over the Mountain (Ozzy Osbourne)
09. The Trooper (Iron Maiden)
10. Breaking the Law (Judas Priest)
11. On Fire (Van Halen)
12. Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin)
13. God (Stryper New Track)