Saturday, May 7, 2011

Bonham - The Disregard of Timekeeping (1989)

Bonham was a British hard rock band founded by drummer Jason Bonham in 1989, the son of the late Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham. The band's most successful line-up included singer Daniel MacMaster, bassist/keyboardist John Smithson, and guitarist Ian Hatton.

In 1990, their debut album The Disregard of Timekeeping topped the rock airplay charts on the success of the single "Wait for You" and helped Bonham garner a gold record from the RIAA in 1990. The band toured extensively for two years, but the impact of such early success on its young members caused a great deal of internal friction. After a lengthy tour, Bonham released their second and final album together, Mad Hatter. Jason Bonham then decided to concentrate on session work and writing new music.

In 1994, Jason Bonham reunited with Ian Hatton and John Smithson from his former band, this time featuring new lead vocalist Marti Frederiksen. This new lineup was known as Motherland. They released one album titled Peace 4 Me. Following the abortive Motherland project, Jason put together the Jason Bonham Band, recruiting lead vocalist Chas West, guitarist Tony Catania, and Smithson on bass and keyboards. Their 1997 album When You See the Sun was produced by ex-Motherland lead vocalist Marti Frederiksen and features Jason's aunt Debbie Bonham on backing vocals in the track "Turning Back the Time".

On March 16, 2008, former lead vocalist Daniel MacMaster died at the age of 39 from a staph infection, more specifically a Group A streptococcal infection.

01. The Disregard of Timekeeping - 2:09 (MacMaster, Hatton, Smithson, Bonham, Ezrin)
02. Wait for You - 5:02 (MacMaster, Hatton, Smithson, Bonham, Ezrin)
03. Bringing Me Down - 4:18
04. Guilty - 4:37 (MacMaster, Hatton, Smithson, Bonham, Ezrin)
05. Holding on Forever - 4:56
06. Dreams - 7:50
07. Don't Walk Away - 4:43
08. Playing to Win - 6:55
09. Cross Me and See - 5:27
10. Just Another Day - 4:26
11. Room for Us All - 7:13

All Songs Written By Daniel MacMaster, Ian Hatton, John Smithson & Jason Bonham, except where noted.