Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Blackwood Creek 2009

BLACKWOOD CREEK is a Kip Winger side project put together with his brother Nate on drums and childhood friend Peter Fletcher on guitar. It all actually started in 1969 in Littleton, Colorado when a 7 year old Kip Winger walked up to Peter Fletcher and said: “Hey, you got big lips, you wanna fight?”. Fletcher then stood up and towered over Winger at which point they started a band instead! They reconvened in the basement of the Wingers house where Kip’s older brother Nate was pounding on the drums. Blackwood Creek was born.

They went on to play every Jr. High and High school and eventually Blackwood Creek night clubs in their path, performing songs by their favorite bands like Grand Funk, Black Sabbath, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Led Zeppelin and their original songs which they were particularly passionate about, to the point of getting fired from jobs for not playing enough popular material.

In 1980 they went their separate ways. Nate and Fletcher went to Los Angeles, Kip went to New York, where he landed a gig with Alice Cooper and then went on to form Winger. Nate recorded with many bands in L.A. including Ratt, Kix, Europe. Fletcher formed the Pigmy Love Circus, including drummer Danny Carey from Tool.

* * * * * * * * * *
Blackwood Creek (2009) [Self Titled Album]
Blackwood Creek reformed in 2007 to record 11 new songs. It’s obvious that the chemistry is still rock solid. These 11 tracks embody 40 years of blood, sweat and tears of 3 musicians who started out together, went their separate ways and reform on common ground.

Tracks: (download for study)
01. Out In Outer Space
02. Nothing But The Sun
03. Your Revolution
04. Dead Stung
05. After You Heart
06. Albatross
07. Jimmy And Georgia
08. Rack Of Greed
09. Love Inspector
10. Joy Ride
11. Wooden Shoe