Sunday, September 4, 2011

Def Leppard - Yeah (2006)

Def Leppard are an English hard rock band formed in 1977 in Sheffield as part of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement. Since 1992, the band have consisted of Joe Elliott (vocals), Phil Collen (guitar), Vivian Campbell (guitar), Rick Savage (bass guitar), and Rick Allen (drums). At nineteen years, this is the band's longest-standing lineup.

The band's strongest commercial success came between the early 1980s and the early 1990s. Their 1981 album High 'n' Dry was produced by Robert John "Mutt" Lange, who helped them begin to define their style, and the album's stand out track "Bringin' On the Heartbreak" became one of the first metal videos played on MTV in 1982. The band's next studio album Pyromania in 1983, with the lead single "Photograph", turned Def Leppard into a household name. In 2004, the album ranked number 384 on Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

* * * * * * * * * *

Def Leppard.Yeah 2006
Yeah! is an album of cover versions of 1970s rock hits, recorded by Def Leppard. It's the first cover album by the band. It was originally to be released on September 20, 2005, but it was announced on March 31, 2006 that the album would be released on May 23, 2006. The album was delayed numerous times and was met with extremely mixed reviews upon its eventual release.The album charted at #16 on The Billboard 200 and #52 on the UK Albums Chart.

Tracks: (download for study * Updated links Sept 01.2011)
01. 20th Century Boy (T-Rex)
02. Rock On (David Essex)
03. Hanging on the Telephone (Blondie)
04. Waterloo Sunset (The Kinks)
05. Hell Raiser (Sweet)
06. 10538 Overture (ELO)
07. Street Life (Roxy Music)
08. Drive-In Saturday (David Bowie)
09. Little Bit Of Love (Free)
10. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll (Mott the Hoople)
11. No Matter What (Badfinger)
12. He's Gonna Step on You Again (John Kongos)
13. Don't Believe a Word (Thin Lizzy)
14. Stay with Me (The Faces)

* * * * * * * * * *