Thursday, September 29, 2011

Harry Hess - Just another Day (2003)

Harry Hess - Just another Day (2003) - This is a beautifully crafted collection of melodic songs by the voice of Harem Scarem. All the songs on the album are extremely high in quality and full of great lyrics and melodies. Although it sounds a little softer than Harem Scarem's music it still maintains the very high standard of production, performance, and intense melodies we have come to expect of Harem Scarem. I can't believe it took me this long to get Harry Hess's solo album but I am very pleased I did. If you like Harem Scarem's music and especially their style of ballads then you will love this album.

Tracks (download for study)
01. Look Right Through Me
02. Wasted Away
03. Everybody
04. Just Another Day
05. Two Ways
06. The Deep End
07. Undone
08. Why
09. Miles Away
10. Sentimental Blvd

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Blackwood Creek 2009

BLACKWOOD CREEK is a Kip Winger side project put together with his brother Nate on drums and childhood friend Peter Fletcher on guitar. It all actually started in 1969 in Littleton, Colorado when a 7 year old Kip Winger walked up to Peter Fletcher and said: “Hey, you got big lips, you wanna fight?”. Fletcher then stood up and towered over Winger at which point they started a band instead! They reconvened in the basement of the Wingers house where Kip’s older brother Nate was pounding on the drums. Blackwood Creek was born.

They went on to play every Jr. High and High school and eventually Blackwood Creek night clubs in their path, performing songs by their favorite bands like Grand Funk, Black Sabbath, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Led Zeppelin and their original songs which they were particularly passionate about, to the point of getting fired from jobs for not playing enough popular material.

In 1980 they went their separate ways. Nate and Fletcher went to Los Angeles, Kip went to New York, where he landed a gig with Alice Cooper and then went on to form Winger. Nate recorded with many bands in L.A. including Ratt, Kix, Europe. Fletcher formed the Pigmy Love Circus, including drummer Danny Carey from Tool.

* * * * * * * * * *
Blackwood Creek (2009) [Self Titled Album]
Blackwood Creek reformed in 2007 to record 11 new songs. It’s obvious that the chemistry is still rock solid. These 11 tracks embody 40 years of blood, sweat and tears of 3 musicians who started out together, went their separate ways and reform on common ground.

Tracks: (download for study)
01. Out In Outer Space
02. Nothing But The Sun
03. Your Revolution
04. Dead Stung
05. After You Heart
06. Albatross
07. Jimmy And Georgia
08. Rack Of Greed
09. Love Inspector
10. Joy Ride
11. Wooden Shoe

Sunday, September 4, 2011

Def Leppard - Yeah (2006)

Def Leppard are an English hard rock band formed in 1977 in Sheffield as part of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement. Since 1992, the band have consisted of Joe Elliott (vocals), Phil Collen (guitar), Vivian Campbell (guitar), Rick Savage (bass guitar), and Rick Allen (drums). At nineteen years, this is the band's longest-standing lineup.

The band's strongest commercial success came between the early 1980s and the early 1990s. Their 1981 album High 'n' Dry was produced by Robert John "Mutt" Lange, who helped them begin to define their style, and the album's stand out track "Bringin' On the Heartbreak" became one of the first metal videos played on MTV in 1982. The band's next studio album Pyromania in 1983, with the lead single "Photograph", turned Def Leppard into a household name. In 2004, the album ranked number 384 on Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

* * * * * * * * * *

Def Leppard.Yeah 2006
Yeah! is an album of cover versions of 1970s rock hits, recorded by Def Leppard. It's the first cover album by the band. It was originally to be released on September 20, 2005, but it was announced on March 31, 2006 that the album would be released on May 23, 2006. The album was delayed numerous times and was met with extremely mixed reviews upon its eventual release.The album charted at #16 on The Billboard 200 and #52 on the UK Albums Chart.

Tracks: (download for study * Updated links Sept 01.2011)
01. 20th Century Boy (T-Rex)
02. Rock On (David Essex)
03. Hanging on the Telephone (Blondie)
04. Waterloo Sunset (The Kinks)
05. Hell Raiser (Sweet)
06. 10538 Overture (ELO)
07. Street Life (Roxy Music)
08. Drive-In Saturday (David Bowie)
09. Little Bit Of Love (Free)
10. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll (Mott the Hoople)
11. No Matter What (Badfinger)
12. He's Gonna Step on You Again (John Kongos)
13. Don't Believe a Word (Thin Lizzy)
14. Stay with Me (The Faces)

* * * * * * * * * *

Friday, September 2, 2011

Nickelback - Curb (1996)

Nickelback is a Canadian rock band from Hanna, Alberta, formed in 1995 by Chad Kroeger, Mike Kroeger, Ryan Peake and then-drummer Brandon Kroeger. While largely a rock band, the group has also experimented with various other musical styles such as pop and country, aside from their hard rock and post-grunge base. Nickelback is one of the most commercially successful Canadian groups, having sold over 35 million albums worldwide. Nickelback ranks as the 11th best selling music act of the 2000s, and is the 2nd best selling foreign act in the U.S. behind The Beatles for the 2000's.

* * * * * * * * * *
Nickelback - Curb (1996)
Their first studio album. Originally self-released by the band on May 1, 1996, the album was later reissued by Roadrunner in 2002, with a different album cover. The songs "Where?", "Fly", "Left" and "Window Shopper" had previously been released on the band's first extended play Hesher, and were re-recorded for the album. "Just Four" was later re-recorded and released as "Just For" on the band's third album, Silver Side Up, in 2001. When reissued in 2002, Curb entered the American Billboard 200 albums chart at number 182. "Fly" was released as the only single from the album, in July 1996, for which the band's first promotional music video was also recorded. It showed the band playing at what appeared to be a party at a house. The album received its first ever certification 14 years after its release date, it was certified Gold in Canada as of March, 2010. Curb is considered to be the heaviest Nickelback album to date, due to clear grunge influences, the majorly distorted guitar riffs and raw vocals that are not as present in their later albums.

Tracks: (download for study * Updated links Sept 19.2011)
01. Little Friend
02. Pusher
03. Detangler
04. Curb
05. Where
06. Falls Back On
07. Sea Groove
08. Fly
09. Just Four
10. Left
11. Window Shopper
12. I Don’t Have