Monday, October 31, 2011

Asia - Asia (1982)

Asia are an English rock group formed in 1981. The band was labelled a supergroup as it included former members of several veteran progressive rock bands, namely John Wetton (formerly in King Crimson, Uriah Heep, U.K., Roxy Music and Wishbone Ash), Geoff Downes (formerly in Yes and The Buggles), Steve Howe (formerly in Yes) and Carl Palmer (formerly in The Crazy World of Arthur Brown, Atomic Rooster, and Emerson, Lake & Palmer).

The band has been through multiple line-up changes in its history, but the current line-up is a reunion of that original line-up. A second band, called Asia Featuring John Payne, exists in parallel as a continuation of a pre-2006 Asia line-up.

* * * * * * * * * *

Asia - Asia (1982)
Their 1st Album Released in June of 1981. The band spent five months writing, arranging and recording nine songs for its self-titled debut that was released early the next year. The disc exploded onto the U.S. Top 200 LPs & Tapes chart in March 1982 staying at #1 for two months and sales exceeding 7 million copies. The first single, "Heat Of The Moment", quickly soared to #1 on The Mainstream Rock chart and hit #4 on the U.S. Official Pop Singles list; "Only Time Will Tell" also climbed into the top 20 of the Pop Singles chart and hit #8 on The Mainstream Rock Tracks. The album spun off another Mainstream Rock top 10 hit with "Sole Survivor" as well as three more album-Rock radio hits: "Wildest Dreams", "Here Comes The Feeling" and "Time Again".

Tracks: (Download for study)
01. Heat Of The Moment
02. Only Time Will Tell
03. Sole Survivor
04. One Step Closer
05. Time Again
06. Wildest Dreams
07. Without You
08. Cutting It Fine
09. Here Comes The Feeling

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Night Ranger - Down Patrol (1982)

Night Ranger is an American rock band from San Francisco that gained popularity during the 1980s with a series of albums and singles. The band's first five albums sold more than 10 million copies worldwide. The quintet is perhaps best known for the power ballad "Sister Christian", which peaked at #5 in June 1984.

After their success waned in the late 1980s, the band split up in 1989 and its members pursued other musical endeavours including group and solo efforts. Several members released an album without original singer/bassist Jack Blades in 1995, but the band soon re-united to release two new albums in the latter half of the decade. Despite the departure of original keyboardist Alan Fitzgerald and guitarist Jeff Watson, the band has continued to tour and remains very popular in Asian countries, especially Japan.

* * * * * * * * * *

Night Ranger - Dawn Patrol (1982)
The debut album by Night Ranger released in 1982. The band was named Ranger during the recording of the album. The first issues of the album were printed and ready to be shipped when it was discovered that there was a country band from California with the same name. The band decided to name themselves Night Ranger after the song that Blades had written for the album. The record company destroyed the copies with the band name Ranger.

Tracks: (download for study)
01. Don’t Tell Me You Love Me (Jack Blades) – 4:19
02. Sing Me Away (Kelly Keagy & Jack Blades) – 4:09
03. At Night She Sleeps (Kelly Keagy & Jack Blades) – 4:08
04. Call My Name (Jack Blades) – 3:42
05. Eddie’s Comin’ Out Tonight (Jack Blades) – 4:26
06. Can’t Find Me A Thrill (Jack Blades) – 3:19
07. Young Girl In Love (Kelly Keagy & Jack Blades) – 3:32
08. Play Rough (Jack Blades) – 4:14
09. Penny (Jack Blades) – 3:47
10. Night Ranger (Jack Blades) – 4:22